Venice

Let me just start out by saying… I LOVE VENICE.  The whole city just screams Italy including the hordes of people you have to deal with at every touristy place.

 

We started our adventure by wandering through the many streets of Venice with no destination in mind, slowly making our way to the Rialto Bride (I kept calling it Ranaldo guess I had a certain good looking man on my mind).  Beautiful view of the Grand Canal and we meet up with some other Americans that are in our program and had dinner with them followed by a few too many wine bottles and an early night in bed!

IMG_3597IMG_3648

IMG_3644

We spent Saturday doing more wandering and helping a friend find Marano glass and real Venician street food!  We saw the beautiful duomo of Venice, took a gondola ride, and enjoyed getting lost in the never ending streets and canals.  Then things got a little more interesting…

IMG_3617

 

IMG_3603IMG_3610

 

We had been informed that George Clooney was getting married in Venice on Saturday and I figured, how often does this happen we should check it out.  So we decide to head over to the reception and see if we could spot them in transit from the wedding to the reception, not really thinking it was going to be a big deal.  We arrive on the right side of the hotel, only about 20 feet from the entrance of the reception from the canal side.  On the dock there were already hordes of people and reporters, hundreds in total simply waiting because the time of the rehearsal had not been released.  We somehow worked our way to the front of the line and were the closest people to the water and the entrance.  Once the celebrities started to arrive things started to get crazy, yelling at Cindy Crawford, Bill Murray, and Bono (I honestly had no idea what Bono looked like) like a 12 year old girl.  After this the police came over and told us all we had to leave because the dock was too crowded and the paparazzi was yelling at us to leave (I still hate them).  So we shifted down a little and then it happen… I saw George Clooney’s beautiful, flawless face.  I honestly never thought I would be one of those people that yelled at a celebrity like a crazy fan girl, nearly in tears..but I was wrong.  I couldn’t even control myself.  After that most people left and so did we.  Pushing off eating, drinking, and using the bathroom for 2 hours was rough but completely worth it.  Sad day to see George married but it made for a great story!

IMG_3625IMG_3637IMG_3643

 

Ciao,

 

Taylor

Leave a comment